The World Games

The World Games - The non-Olympic Games, is an international event, set up first time in 1981, which takes place a year after the summer Olympic games, organised by the International World Games Association (IWGA). The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has taken the patronage of the event. The World Games sports program includes disciplines that are not represented at the Olympic Games.

The World Games are designed to promote non-Olympic disciplines, which would allow them to be included in the Olympic program.

The recent – 10 th edition of The World Games was held in 2017 in Wrocław. In the capital of Lower Silesia, from 20 to 30 July there were 3,245 athletes from 112 countries. During the games, players competed in 26 sports arenas in 31 disciplines, 4 of which were selected by the City of Wrocław.

The Polish national team consisted of 293 people and won 30 medals, placing 13th in the general classification.

Previous editions of The World Games:

  • 1981 Santa Clara
  • 1985 London
  • 1989 Karlsruhe
  • 1993 The Hague
  • 1997 Lahti
  • 2001 Akita
  • 2005 Duisburg
  • 2009 Kaohsiung
  • 2013 Cali
  • 2017 Wroclaw

The next World Games 2021 will be held in Birmingham, Alabama (USA).